Illinois has an aggressive anti-DUI program. You could get arrested for driving while drunk or drugged. Even though the state law makes 0.08% the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) while driving, you could potentially be charged with a DUI if your BAC is at 0.05%. This depends on your behavior and the officer who pulled you over.
A DUI comes with many penalties. DUIs are typically misdemeanors unless you have had more than two or you injured someone while intoxicated. Read on to learn more about the various types of punishment you may face.
Illinois offers no chances for DUI offenders. Even a first-time DUI offense will result in your driver’s license revoked for one year. If you are under age 21, your license will be revoked for two years. You could also face up to one year in jail, a $2,500 fine, completion of a substance abuse program and community service. If you wish to drive while your license is revoked, you can apply for a special permit that allows you to drive if you have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
You are charged with a misdemeanor unless you caused bodily harm. Once you factor in fees and attorneys costs, a first offense for a DUI costs roughly $16,580.
A second offense is also a misdemeanor unless you hurt someone or had a child under age 16 in the vehicle. You could face up to one year in jail and $2,000 in fines. Your license will be suspended for at least five years and you will be ordered to perform community service. If your BAC was above 0.16, you will face enhanced penalties.
A third offense is considered aggravated DUI, a Class 4 felony. You could face a $2,500 fine and up to seven years in jail. Your license will be suspended for 10 years and you will be required to perform community service. Again, you will face enhanced penalties for a BAC above 0.16 or for having a child under age 16 in the vehicle.
Once you reach your fourth DUI offense, your driving privileges will be revoked for life. If your BAC was above 0.16 or you had a minor under age 16 as a passenger, you will face additional penalties.
Contact a Skokie DUI Defense Attorney
A DUI conviction can result in many penalties. You may be forced to spend time in jail and pay hefty fines. You could lose your job. You may also lose your privilege to drive. It’s important to get your charges, if possible.
Attorneys Jonathan Minkus has been defending those facing DUI charges in Illinois for more than 33 years. He is an excellent negotiator who can also provide aggressive representation in the courtroom if necessary. If you are looking for a law firm that will put your best interests first and provide you with a solid defense, call the Law Offices of Jonathan Minkus today at (847) 966-0300.