Recent Blog Posts



Driving with a Suspended License in Illinois

In Illinois, there are several reasons a driver’s license may be suspended. Generally, three or more traffic convictions in a year will result in your license being revoked, as well as specific offenses involving driving under the influence or accidents resulting in injury or death. In other cases, a license may be suspended for smaller charges, such as failing to pay parking tickets or evading tolls. Once your license is suspended, you cannot legally drive; if you are caught doing so, there are significant consequences you need to be aware of. 

Contact an Illinois criminal law attorney at the soonest opportunity to protect your rights. Call the Law Offices of Jonathan Minkus for advice regarding your case. 

What Happens If I Drive With a Suspended License in Illinois?

There’s a common assumption that driving with a suspended license is nothing more than a simple traffic offense. But the reality is that driving with a suspended license is considered a criminal offense and can lead to significant penalties. In Illinois, this conviction is considered a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to $2,500 in fines and a year in jail. 

In some circumstances, using a suspended license may be charged as a felony, which is the most severe category in Illinois. Your offense may be a felony if you have numerous past traffic evictions or your license was revoked due to a reckless homicide conviction. A felony charge may involve a maximum fine of $25,000 and between 1 to 15 years in prison. 

Can I Reinstate My Suspended License?

Due to the tremendous consequences of driving with a suspended license, you may decide to pursue license reinstatement or a hardship license. The length of time that your driver’s license is suspended depends on your case’s circumstances. Understandably, a long suspension period can impact your personal life. Recover your driving privileges by paying a driver’s license reinstatement fee. Depending on the nature of your license suspension, you may also need to fulfill other conditions, such as paying child support and other fees. 

When Will I Receive a Hardship License?

Receiving a hardship license is often a complicated, multi-step process. In Illinois, it takes an average of 10 to 14 weeks to receive a hardship license after the date of your administrative hearing. There is a waiting period before the hearing, and another waiting period before the Illinois Secretary of State provides their decision. Then, it takes time to get the physical hardship permit. 

The in-person formal hearing is scheduled 60 days following the day the request is filed. After the hearing, the Secretary of State must make a decision within 90 days, although most decisions are finalized before then. 

Contact an Attorney to Discuss Your Options

If your license was suspended, there are pathways to regaining your driving privileges. Talk to an attorney at the Law Offices of Jonathan Minkus to explore your options and see whether license reinstatement may be possible. 

For Over 33 Years

Senior Partner Jonathan Minkus has successfully defended individuals charged with every conceivable criminal offense, from traffic misdemeanors to death-penalty eligible homicides.

We urge you to contact us for a FREE, confidential, initial consultation.

See How We Can Help

Change Your Future. Free Initial Consultation.
  • Call Us Today : (847) 966-0300

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Address :

Twin Lakes, WI 53181


Ph : (262) 724-0080
Email : lawyermink@yahoo.com