No matter which state you’re in in the country, driving with a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) level of .08 percent or above is illegal. However, the specifics of the punishment for a driving under the influence (DUI) crime varies on a state-to-state basis. If you live in Skokie and are arrested for and charged with a DUI offense, it is important that you understand Illinois’ DUI laws, the potential consequences that you face, and how to mitigate the most severe repercussions. As soon as possible following arrest, we strongly recommend that you contact an experienced Skokie DUI attorney.
As stated above, the legal limit in Illinois is .08 percent, which is typically between two and four drinks depending upon a person’s height, weight, metabolism, and other factors. For those who are under 21–the legal drinking age–there is a zero tolerance policy in place, which means a BAC reading of anything over 0.00 percent can result in a DUI charge. For those with commercial drivers’ licenses, the BAC limit is .04 percent.
As a note, if a person has a BAC of .16 or above, the offense carries an enhanced penalty.
According to a comprehensive DUI guide published by the Illinois Secretary of State, a first offense DUI is a Class A misdemeanor that will result in a one-year license suspension (or two years if the offender is under 21 years of age). A Class A misdemeanor in Illinois is penalized by an incarceration period of up to one year, and a fine of up to $2,500.
If the offense is committed with a BAC of .16 or above, the penalties will also include at least 100 hours of community service.
If a person commits an aggravated DUI, which may occur if there is a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of offense, of the offense is a third, fourth, fifth, sixth, or subsequent conviction, the penalties are more severe. In fact, a second offense with a child in the car is a Class 4 felony, a third offense (sans child) is a Class 2 felony, a fifth conviction is a Class 1 felony, and a sixth or subsequent conviction is a Class X felony. A Class X felony is penalized by a prison sentence of between six and 30 years, and a fine of up to $25,000.
Being charged with a DUI may not only mean expensive courts fees and fines, license revocation, and potential jail time; it can also mean a mark against you that lasts for life, impairing you from pursuing certain opportunities or obtaining employment. To help you build a defense, negotiate with the prosecution, and hopefully secure a case outcome that is as least damaging to your life as possible, you need an experienced attorney on your side.
At the Law Offices of Jonathan Minkus, our Skokie DUI attorney has the skill set and drive you’re looking for. Contact Jonathan Minkus today for an initial consultation.
Senior Partner Jonathan Minkus has successfully defended individuals charged with every conceivable criminal offense, from traffic misdemeanors to death-penalty eligible homicides.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.